Book Review: A Whisper of Peace

A Whisper of Peace
By
Kim Vogel Sawyer

A while back a I received a list of books to review from Bethany House Publishers, I can’t remember what originally drew me to this book. When I received this book in the mail I didn’t even remember choosing it, but I’m glad I was given the opportunity to read it.

When Clay Selby and his step-sister, Vivian,  embarked on a missions journey to a remote Alaskan village they had no idea what they were getting themselves into. Clay’s father had ministered to the Kiowa tribe in Oklahoma so Clay thought it only right that he choose to follow in those footsteps and bring the gospel message to the people of the Gwich’in village. Clay  and Vivian soon discover that some of the people in the village harbor resentment toward white people, even going so far as to excommunicate the tribal leader’s daughter and her family because she married a white man. The mutual unfamiliarity of the Selby’s and people of the village lead to some interesting encounters, sometimes making Clay and Vivian feel as though they live under a microscope. On top of this, they unknowingly befriend the excommunicated grand daughter of the tribal leader, Lizzie, and are faced with the decision of breaking off all ties with her or leaving the village. Will Clay ever feel as though he has reached the people in the village with the message of the Bible? Will they have to sever all ties with Lizzie? What does the future hold for the village and the missionaries?

I don’t want to give too much of the story away, but I promise you won’t be disappointed if you read this book. It is different than most Christian historical fiction because it is set in Alaska, not in Amish country or the prairie. It was refreshing to read something that was set in a place so different than most other books in this genre. Kim Vogel Sawyer develops beautiful relationships between the characters and really makes the reader feel connected with them. As I read the book I wished that I could be there in the village looking up at the great Denali with the people. If you like Christian historical fiction, I hope you’ll give this book a try!

If you’re interested in checking out this book you can find it on Amazon and Barnes and Noble, as well as many other retailers.

Disclaimer:

I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for this review. All thoughts are my own and I was not required to write a positive review.

Leave a Reply

