Book Review: Love and War devotional

Love and War: Devotional for Couples
By
John and Stasi Eldredge

     Based on themes and ideas presented in their book Love and War, John and Stasi Eldredge developed this 8-week devotional study as a way to help couples thoroughly understand and completely transform their ideas about marriage. What the world sees as “just a piece of paper,” God has meant to be an example and application of his great love for us. This devotional provides couples “new insights, encouraging scriptures and practical exercises” as tools for developing a better marriage.

     Though I have not read the book that this devotional accompanies, I was enlightened about some things I’d never given much thought to. I’d never realized the spiritual war that rages about marriage and how hard Satan works at destroying it; never realized that our marriages are supposed to be an example of God’s love to the world. Reading this devotional has given me a new passion about my marriage; I want others to see God’s love in my own marriage. I want to live up to the responsibility that God has placed on the marriage relationship. I would recommend this book to all married couples regardless of the state of their marriage.  I am so intrigued and inspired by what I’ve read that I’m definitely going to be picking up a copy of Love and War so that I can learn even more.

This book can be found at Amazon and Barnes and Noble, as well as many other retailers.
Disclaimer: WaterBrook/Multnomah Publishers provided me with this book free of charge for review.
Leave a Reply

