Book Review: Paradise Valley

Paradise Valley
By
Dale Cramer

In the past, I was not the biggest fan of historical fiction. I’d always thought that Amish fiction seemed interesting, but I was usually too cheap to spend the money in case I didn’t like it. When I received an e-mail from Bethany House Publishers about reviewing this book on my blog, I thought it would be a great opportunity to see if I could really get into this type of book. I am so glad I took the chance, because I realized that I really do enjoy reading this type of book. I don’t know how it compares with Amish fiction by other authors, but I thoroughly enjoyed the story Dale Cramer told in this novel. I could definitely see myself reading more books like this in the future. The book says that it’s the first in a series called The Daughters of Caleb Bender, so it looks like I’m in luck!

Paradise Valley tells the story of an Amish family who call Ohio home; life for them is going well until the state passes a new bill that would require their children to attend public schools. Faced with this dilemma, Caleb Bender decides to move his family to a piece of land high in the hills of Mexico. Though family faces many hardships including bandits, cultural differences and language barriers, they remain strong in their faith and rely on God to see them through. It is a wonderful story of love, faith, and trust.

This book can be found at Amazon and Barnes and Noble, as well as many other retailers.
Disclaimer: A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review by Bethany House Publishers. All thoughts are my own and I was not required to post a positive review.

Leave a Reply

