Book Review: The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck

The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck
By
Kathleen Y’Barbo

I have to be honest and say that when I first opened this book and saw that it started in London, I was sure I was not going to like this book.  I have a hard time getting into historical fiction that is set in Europe, I’m not sure why, but it is what it is!

I could not have been more wrong!

I was able to get interested in the story very quickly and really enjoyed reading it. At times is very humorous and more than once I found myself laughing out loud as I read it. (This is something I don’t normally do.)
I really loved the story and the manner in which it was written. I enjoyed watching the spark of interest between the two main characters evolve into a mutual disdain and eventually turn into a passionate love. I could easily identify with Charlotte and couldn’t resist cheering her on as she began to understand what God had placed in her life and where His hand was leading her.

This book was very well written and very entertaining, not boring like historical fiction can sometimes be. I would definitely read more books about these characters if they became available!

This book can be found at Amazon and Barnes and Noble, as well as many other retailers.
Disclaimer: A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review by WaterBrook Multnomah Publishers. All thoughts are my own and I was not required to post a positive review.

Leave a Reply

