Book Review: An Amish Wedding


An Amish Wedding
By
Beth Wiseman, Kathleen Fuller, and Kelly Long

An Amish Wedding is a collection of three wonderful stories, each one written by a different well-known author of Amish fiction. Though the stories are all written by different authors, they are all intertwined with each individual story focusing on a different couple. Rather than try and explain it all myself, I’ll let the publisher Thomas Nelson tell you what to expect: (from http://www.thomasnelson.com)

 Priscilla’s upcoming wedding is stirring up trouble—and romance—in Paradise.

 A meticulous planner, Priscilla King has dreamed of marrying Chester Lapp since she was sixteen years old. Thanks to her sister Naomi’s matchmaking skills, Chester courts Priscilla and on her nineteenth birthday, he proposes. Priscilla puts her wedding plans into action.

While happy about her own wedding, Priscilla wishes Naomi would find her own perfect match. When Chester’s cousin Zeke shows up, Naomi’s life gets complicated.

More problems arise as the big day approaches, including the strange behavior of Priscilla’s best friend Rose, whose own fiancé is hiding something from her—something she’ll do anything to uncover.

Is God sending a message to call off the wedding? What is certain is that the hearts of these three women will be forever altered by this Amish Wedding.

Three possible brides. Three separate tales that tell one bigger story. From three best-selling Amish fiction authors.

My Thoughts:

I really enjoyed reading this book. You might remember that I recently posted about a book that was rather short; I found it rushed and felt like there wasn’t enough depth to the story.  While each of the stories in this book are quite short, they are all intertwined so you get backstory on a variety characters even though each story mainly focuses on a few. I enjoyed be able to spend a bit of time with the characters without the story getting old. I also thought that this book might seem chopped up since it was written by three authors, but I found the stories to flow well and didn’t have a hard time leaving off one story and picking up another.

I know it seems like I’ve been reviewing a ton of Amish fiction lately, but I just take what the publishers are offering for review.  Not to mention, the Amish fiction genre has me captivated lately. It’s so interesting to me that these stories are not historical, they are set in modern times and the Amish are living in a way that is so “old-fashioned”.  I think I tend to forget that there are actually people living like this in America! I guess that means you can expect to see some more Amish fiction review from me in the future! 🙂

Buy the Book:

If you’re interested in checking out this book you can find it on Amazon and christianbook.com, as well as many other retailers.

Disclaimer:

I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for this review. All thoughts are my own and I was not required to write a positive review.

Leave a Reply

