Book Review: Heaven is for Real for kids

Heaven is for Real for Kids
as told by
Colton Burpo

A while back I read was given the opportunity to read and review Heaven is for Real by Todd Burpo, so when I saw that there was a children’s version I could review I was very interested. Heaven is for Real is the account of a young boy’s visit to heaven while undergoing medical treatment. The details and stories he tells are amazing and much more than most little minds could comprehend. I know there are some of you reading this who didn’t think much of the book, but I urge to keep reading and just hear me out. This book takes the story of Colton’s visit to heaven and puts it in language kids can understand. Each page has a little snippet about an aspect of heaven or one of Colton’s experiences. Also included on each page is a scripture reference and a colorful illustration. These illustrations were drawn under Colton’s direction and reflect the experiences he had on his heavenly adventure.

Since this is a children’s book, I reviewed it with my kids who are 5 and 6. They sat still and were interested in the story and all it’s details. When I asked them what they would tell someone about the book, they said:

“It’s great!”

“It’s thankful!”

“It’s heavenly!”

I know their reviews don’t say much, but I love that there is a book like this for kids to learn about heaven. I know there are people who don’t believe Colton’s story, but either way this is a great book to help your kids learn a little more about heaven. One of the first pages of the book says, “Heaven is for real and you’re going to like it!” The descriptions and details in this book really appeal to kids and get them excited about all the wonderful things heaven has in store for us. My kids were really excited when it talked about Colton meeting the angel Gabriel (they’ve heard a lot about Gabriel this Christmas season.) This book does a great job of taking something we sometimes take for granted and making it something we can really help our kids understand and be excited about.

Buy the Book:

If you’re interested in checking out this book you can find it on Amazon and Barnes and Noble, as well as many other retailers.

Disclaimer:

I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for this review. All thoughts are my own and I was not required to write a positive review.

Leave a Reply

