What to Do, What to Do…

This past weekend I did something I should never do…..I went to the farmer’s market without a clear plan of what I should buy.  Since we moved to Maui, I’ve been horrible at menu planning.  I think when we first moved here it had something to do with the high price of everything and even though we’ve been here almost 3 years, I’ve yet to recover! 🙂  So, on Saturday I went to the farmer’s market near my house and spent $25 on a random assortment of veggies.

Having grown up in California I am familiar with avocados, mostly the common Haas variety, but here on Maui I often find what I believe is the Reed variety. I may be wrong on that, but going by pictures and descriptions, that is my best guess.

picture courtesy of finecooking.com

Whenever I see those gorgeous avocados, I just can’t resist buying one even if I have no idea what I’ll do with it. Saturday was no exception, I bought a beautiful avocado and let it sit on my counter for a few days before I decided I should finally figure out what to use it for. After perusing Tasty Kitchen I settled on a recipe called Avocado Pesto Pasta. I was a little skeptical at first, but it was amazing! Knowing my kids probably wouldn’t eat it if I told them it was avocado pasta, I just told them it was pasta with green sauce and they both loved it, too.

photo courtesy of tastykitchen.com

Mine looked a little different than the picture above because I used a different type of pasta, but I think using fettucine would make it even better!  I’ve posted the recipe below….hopefully I’m not breaking any copyright laws or anything.  Just to be clear, the recipe was found on Tasty Kitchen, I did not invent it myself! 🙂

Ingredients

  • ½ pounds Pasta
  • 1 whole Avocado
  • ½ whole Lemon
  • 2 cloves Garlic
  • ½ teaspoons Kosher Salt
  • ¼ cups Basil
  • 2 Tablespoons Olive Oil
  • 1 dash Fresh Ground Pepper
  • 1 Tablespoon Fresh Grated Parmesan

Preparation Instructions

Boil water and cook pasta according to package directions.

Scoop avocado out of skin and discard the seed. Cut avocado into chunks and add to a food processor.

Zest the lemon and add zest and juice to the processor. Add garlic, salt and basil to the processor. Blend for a few seconds then slowly add in olive oil. Blend until creamy.

Drain pasta. Mix pesto into pasta and serve with a garnish of Parmesan and fresh ground pepper.

One thought on “What to Do, What to Do…

Leave a Reply

