Book Review: By Faith, Not By Sight

By Faith, Not By Sight
By
Scott MacIntyre with Jennifer Schuchmann

I remember watching Scott MacIntyre on American Idol a few years ago. I was impressed that he could play the piano so well despite the fact that his sight was extremely limited; I can’t say that I remember his voice all that well. What I didn’t know was that he was a very accomplished musician before American Idol; having performed at the Kennedy Center and studied music in London.  I was also unaware that shortly before he began his American Idol journey, he almost lost his life when he went into kidney failure. This book tells Scott’s story, in his own words, from childhood through his American Idol journey and beyond. It also shares the story of a family with a deep faith relying on God to provide and meet them where they were.

I really enjoyed learning more of Scott’s story; it was so much richer than they were able to share during his time on American Idol. I was inspired by his family’s faith and their encouragement of Scott’s gift. Though the story was interesting, it seemed a bit long-winded at times. In fact, the book comes in somewhere around 280 pages. Despite that, learning more about Scott and his desire to bless people with his music was inspiring.  I have a new admiration for him and look forward to hearing more from him in the future.

Buy the Book:

This book can be found at Amazon and Barnes and Noble, as well as many other retailers.

Disclaimer: A complimentary copy of this book was provided for this review. All thoughts are my own and I was not required to post a positive review.

Leave a Reply

