Homemade Chocolate Syrup

Our family loves chocolate syrup! We like in milk, in coffee and especially on our ice cream. Even before we started on our quest to eat better, I loved the challenge of trying to make something rather than just running out to the store to buy it. Chocolate syrup was one of the first recipes I tried; it’s super easy and tastes way better than anything you can buy at the store. After making my first batch, I threw out the store bought stuff and haven’t looked back. I hope you enjoy it as much as we do!

Random side note: Check out this post about real food basics, I read it right after I posted my last entry and it seemed to answer some of my questions and ease my guilt just a little. 🙂

Homemade Chocolate Syrup
I borrowed the basics from Alton Brown, but tweaked it a little to omit the corn syrup. 

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups water

3 cups sugar

2 Tbsp honey

1 1/2 cups cocoa powder

1/4 tsp salt

1 Tbsp vanilla extract

Directions:

Bring water, sugar and honey to boil in a medium pot, whisking frequently.

Whisk in cocoa powder and salt. Cook until sauce is slightly thickened, whisking constantly. Remove from heat. (Sauce will thicken as it cools, so don’t feel like you need to cook it to the perfect chocolate syrup-like consistency.)

Stir in vanilla.

Let cool to room temperature and pour into squeeze bottles, mason jars, etc. (I poured some into a squeeze bottle and the rest into a mason jar.)

Store in refrigerator and enjoy on ice cream, in coffee, in chocolate milk or any other way you see fit! 🙂

Though I haven’t tried it yet, I bet this recipe would be customized just a bit .  I’m thinking special dark cocoa powder with peppermint extract in place of vanilla….yum!

UPDATE:  If you want to see how Alton Brown does it, check out the video here.

Leave a Reply

