Book Review: Hope Springs

Hope Springs
By
Kim Cash Tate

About the Book (from thomasnelson.com):

Hope Springs is the epitome of small-town life—a place filled with quiet streets where families have been friends for generations, a place where not a lot changes . . . until now.

Janelle Evans hasn’t gone back to Hope Springs for family reunions since losing her husband. But when she arrives for Christmas and learns that her grandmother is gravely ill, she decides to extend the stay. It isn’t long before she runs into her first love, and feelings that have been dormant for more than a decade are reawakened.

Becca Anderson is finally on the trajectory she’s longed for. Having been in the ministry trenches for years, she’s been recruited as the newest speaker of a large Christian women’s conference. But her husband feels called to become the pastor of his late father’s church in Hope Springs. Will small-town living affect her big ministry dreams?

Stephanie London is married to a doctor in St. Louis and living an ideal life. When her cousin Janelle volunteers to stay in Hope Springs and care for their grandmother, she feels compelled to do the same. It’s a decision that will forever change her.

As these women come together, they soon recognize that healing is needed in their hearts, their families, and their churches that have long been divided along racial lines. God’s plan for them in Hope Springs—and for Hope Springs itself—is bigger than they ever imagined.

My Thoughts:

As soon as I started reading this book, I felt a little lost.  Sort of like I had been thrown into a story that other people already knew half of and I knew nothing about. There wasn’t a lot of introduction to the characters so I often felt like I was playing catch-up trying to figure out who these people were. From what I understand, some of Kim’s other books revolve around some of the characters seen in Hope Springs, but since I haven’t read any of her other books I felt out of the loop. Another thing I wasn’t very fond of was the fact that the elapsed time between chapters varied from a few days to a few months and there wasn’t a lot of talk about what had happened during those gaps in the story.

Once I was able to get a feel for the characters and their stories, I enjoyed the book a little. It was hard to really enjoy the book as a whole because it was almost like starting to watch a TV show in the middle and having to piece together past events on my own. I am sure that Kim Cash Tate is a wonderful story teller, I just wish I’d read some of her other books before jumping into this one. I plan to give her another shot and pick up one of her earlier books and I’d advise others interested in this book to do the same in hopes that they won’t be as lost as I was at times.

Disclaimer: A complimentary copy of this book was provided for this review. All thoughts are my own and I was not required to post a positive review.

Buy the Book:

This book can be found at Amazon and Barnes and Noble, as well as many other retailers.

Leave a Reply

