Cook Book Review: You Be Sweet

You Be Sweet
By
Patsy Caldwell and Amy Wilson

If you love Southern cooking, especially dessert, you need to read this book!

Each section starts out with a short story by Amy Wilson. The stories give a little background and create a setting in which one might serve the recipes that follow. The stories told are entertaining and help take this cook book to another level; a step above your standard cookbook with just recipes and pictures. I really wish there was more to read about the characters introduced, but since this is a cookbook and not a novel I guess I’ll just take what I can get.

When I opened the book to the table of contents, I was shocked at the amount of recipes this book contains. There are ten chapters and each one of the contains 15-20 recipes. I’ll let you do the math, but trust me…that’s a lot of recipes!!!  Patsy Caldwell must have given away every secret family recipe in this book. There were only a handful of recipes that didn’t appeal to me and that’s just because of my taste preferences; there wasn’t anything that seemed downright nasty. Here are a few of the recipes that stood out to me: Sara’s Peanut Brittle, Lemon-Raspeberry Cupcakes with Lemon Icing, Homemade Caramel Candy and Old Fashioned Southern Chess Pie. One of my favorite things about this cook book is that most everything is made from scratch, there aren’t too many pre-made ingredients.

I can’t wait to try some of these recipes. If I get a chance, I’ll make sure to post some reviews about them here.

Buy the book:

This book can be found at Amazon and Barnes and Noble, as well as many other retailers.

Disclaimer: A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review by Thomas Nelson Publishers. All thoughts are my own and I was not required to post a positive review.

One thought on “Cook Book Review: You Be Sweet

Leave a Reply

