Book Review: Cruel Harvest

Cruel Harvest
By
Fran Elizabeth Grubb

Growing up, Fran Elizabeth Grubb’s family was nothing like what we think of as a normal family. Fran’s family were migrant workers so they moved often, following the harvest. She also grew up in the hands of an abusive, alcoholic father and was abandoned by her mother. Cruel Harvest tells her story and how she came from a place of shame, hurt and anger to a life filled with love and forgiveness.

Once I started this book, I couldn’t stop! Fran’s story is so heart breaking and emotional, that I wanted to hurry and get to the part where her life got better. I wanted to make sure that she got her happy ending, I was thrilled when I saw glimpses of hope for her future.  This isn’t a light read, it’s heavy and at times it’s painful to read.  Her writing is so raw and emotional, that I found it easy to put myself in her shoes and really get wrapped up in her story. I cannot even fathom growing up in her circumstances, much less coming to a place of forgiveness. She does a great job of sharing her story and her heart in this memoir.

Buy the book:

This book can be found at Amazon and Barnes and Noble, as well as many other retailers.

Disclaimer: A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review by Thomas Nelson Publishers. All thoughts are my own and I was not required to post a positive review.

One thought on “Book Review: Cruel Harvest

  1. I am enjoying your book reviews. I would love for you to share them on my book review site. More Than A Review.com. I dont mind if you reference your blog in the review. This is great info to share regarding books we may not know about otherwise.

Leave a Reply

