Book Review: An Amish Kitchen

An Amish Kitchen
By
Beth Wiseman, Kelly Long and Amy Clipston

An Amish Kitchen is a collection of novellas following the stories of a group of characters who live in Paradise, Pennsylvania. In each story the kitchen plays a huge part, which is the center of the Amish home. From mixing herbal remedies to running a bed and breakfast to working in close quarters with family the characters featured in An Amish Kitchen find the kitchen to be places of love, hope and family.

As with most other story collections, the stories of these characters are intertwined and all the main characters make appearances in each story.  I really enjoy reading collections like these because I really like being able to follow characters after their main story is told. This group of stories is well written and flows together really well even though there are 3 different authors. My only complaint is that these stories, like most in these types of collections, each seem to be a rushed story.  I’d love to be able to go a little more in depth into each story, but then the book would probably be 1,000 pages long…of course then it would take me 3 times as long to read. Overall I really enjoyed reading this book.

Oh yeah, I forgot to mention something super important. At the end of the book, there is a collection of 45 Old Order Amish recipes many of which make an appearance in the stories.  Some of the recipes included are soft pretzels, pumpkin whoopee pies, cream celery and quilter’s salad.  I can’t wait to try my hand at some of these recipes.  If I can remember, I’ll try to make sure and post some reviews if I ever get the time to try them out.

Buy the Book:

If you’re interested in checking out this book you can find it on Amazon and Barnes and Noble, as well as many other retailers.

Disclaimer:

I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for this review. All thoughts are my own and I was not required to write a positive review.

Leave a Reply

