Mystery Veggies

For the last month or so, we’ve been participating in the Bountiful Baskets program. It’s like a co-op, we pay a certain amount each week and get a big box full of organic veggies. I guess you could also call it a CSA, but those are usually consist mainly of local produce and since Bountiful Baskets is in about 20 states it’s not usually local produce.  We’ve even had produce from Mexico.

So far I really like the program, I haven’t received any produce that was already past it’s prime and compared to going to the Whole Foods and buying the same things, it’s one heck of a deal. However, there is one great perk that I didn’t expect when I first started participating, we have tried veggies that I would never have tried on my own. It seems each week we get some sort of veggie that I’ve never seen before. Sometimes I’m a bit intimidated when I open my box and find something like this:

photo-21Or this:

beetBut usually all it takes it my best friend Google to help me figure out what it is and what to do with it.  And if nothing else I use my new motto “when it doubt, roast it.”  LOL

In case you’re wondering, the top picture is celery root and I think the bottom is a sugar beet. And those are just two of the new veggies our family has tried since the beginning of the year. Without much complaint, my kids have tried celery root, sugar beet, butternut squash, asparagus, artichoke, brussels sprouts and zucchini just to name a few. My husband and I have also eaten these foods, but let’s face it the kids trying them is the bigger victory! 🙂

Overall, I am really enjoying getting a random box of produce each week And sometimes I even get a nice little surprise like this smiley avocado!

avocadoI highly recommend the Bountiful Baskets program, but it’s not available everywhere.  To see if it’s available in your area, go to bountifulbaskets.org.  If your area isn’t listed, check out localharvest.org to see if there are any CSA’s you can join near you.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

