Quilts of Love: Aloha Rose

I am so excited to be a part of the Quilts of Love blog tour! Check out other reviews here and don’t forget about the giveaway.

Aloha Rose
By
Lisa Carter

Laney Carrigan was adopted and the only link she has to her biological family is the Lokelani quilt her mother wrapped her in before she left her on a stranger’s doorstep. After her adoptive mother dies, Laney’s father encourages her to seek out her biological family. She hopes that this will help her in her struggles with rejection and insecurity. After connecting with a cousin and her aunt, Laney heads over to Hawaii’s Big Island to meet the family she never knew. What she finds is a family that is more accepting and loving of her than she could have ever imagined – an ohana. She also meets Kai, a Hawaiian cowboy/helicopter pilot, who is struggling with his own issues from the past. Despite their intense feelings for one another, their stubbornness and past issues make it hard for them to admit these feelings and realize what they have in front of them. Just when she is beginning to feel like a part of the family, Laney realizes that her so-called ohana has been keeping some huge secrets that could change things forever. What transpires is a story of unfailing love, reconciliation and restoration that change an entire family forever.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book; from the moment I read the first paragraph I was hooked. It’s not often that I am drawn into a book as soon as I pick it up, but this book sucked me right in. Lisa Carter does a great job of making the reader feel like they’re part of the story, right there in the room with the characters. She also does a fantastic job of describing the beauty and culture of Hawaii. Having recently lived in Hawaii, I loved that this book really engaged the reader in the Hawaiian culture – even introducing them to a whole new language at times. I’ve been to some of the places mentioned in the novel so it was easy for me to just slip myself right into the setting and almost see what the characters were seeing. It made me homesick for Maui. 🙂  As much as I like reading  book series where the reader gets to follow characters through different books, I really feel like Carter did an excellent job of telling the entire story in one book.  I didn’t feel like there was more to the story that I’d have to read later and I appreciate that; it’s nice to have a sense of closure when you’re finished with a book.

As a side note, I also really enjoyed the way quilting was wrapped up into this book – not just the quilt itself, but tidbits of Hawaiian quilting.  My mom and I once took a Hawaiian quilting class and I can tell you from experience that it is not easy! It’s all done by hand and the designs are so intricate and detailed that it takes an enormous amount of time to complete something even as small as a pillow…as a matter of fact, somewhere in this house you’ll find a bag containing my very own, nowhere near finished, pillow case. 🙂

Disclaimer: I was provided a copy of this book in exchange for this review. All thoughts are my own.

Buy the Book 

If you’re interested in checking out this book you can find it on Amazon and Barnes and Noble, as well as many other retailers.

One thought on “Quilts of Love: Aloha Rose

Leave a Reply

