Book Review: Sisterchicks Do the Hula

Sisterchicks Do the Hula
by
Robin Jones Gunn

I have been a huge fan of Robin Jones Gunn’s books ever since I got my hands on the Christy Miller series. Her writing is easy to read and super relatable. They’re the kind of book that you can easily breeze through in a single afternoon. Despite the easy reading, these books also pack a huge punch in terms of content. Gunn has a way of writing that always carries a good message and teaches the reader a little more about the loving, gracious God we serve while still being entertaining and fun to read.

Sisterchicks Do the Hula is no exception to Gunn’s writing style. It follows the story of college friends, Hope and Laurie, who finally make good on an old promise to go to Hawaii together. Both are about to turn forty and facing various crossroads in their lives. Through their adventures on the island of Oahu, experiencing the island culture as well as the craziness of this tourist destination, both women find themselves becoming more and more aware of God’s plan for their lives – as surprising as those plans might be.

I’ve read this book multiple times and picked it up this last time because I was feeling a little Maui-sick and the need to immerse myself in a little Hawaiiana. (It helps that the cover image is a shot from one of my favorite beaches on Maui.) I loved it this time just as much as I did the first time I read it.  Each time I pick up this book new things stick out to me, things that are more relevant to me as my life continues to change seasons. This time was no different, I was able to pick up some bits of wisdom from Hope and Laurie’s story that I was able to apply in my own life.  I can’t wait to see what I get out of this book the next time I read it.

Disclaimer: I was provided a copy of this book in exchange for this review. All thoughts are my own.

Buy the Book 

If you’re interested in checking out this book you can find it on Amazon and Barnes and Noble, as well as many other retailers.

Leave a Reply

