Book Review: Girl at the End of the World

Girl at the End of the World
by
Elizabeth Esther

Girl at the End of the World is Elizabeth Esther‘s account of growing up in, and eventually escaping from, a Fundamentalist Christian cult – her description, not mine. As the granddaughter of the founder of The Assembly, Elizabeth’s childhood included daily spankings, adherence to strict rules, regular humiliation and an intense Apocalyptic fear. When her efforts to be perfect were not enough she took drastic measures, including self mutilation. As she grew older she began to question whether or not what The Assembly taught her to truth was actually the Truth. After she married, Elizabeth and her husband, Matt, began to search their souls on the issue and made the decision to leave The Assembly even if it meant never seeing her family again. Life on the outside wasn’t always easy, as Elizabeth and Matt soon discovered. Slowly, but surely, they started to settle into a new normal and even a new church, the Catholic Church.

For some reason, I am intrigued by the culture of Fundamentalist religion, I’m not sure why but I find it really interesting. When I saw that this book was available for me to review, I got ahold of it as soon as I could. Elizabeth’s story is very interesting and provides great insight about life in a Fundamentalist Christian church.  Her memoir is well written and kept my attention from cover to cover, I think I read it in about 2 days. I was surprised by the fact that she ended up joining the Catholic Church, but as I read more I was able to understand her decision a bit better. This is a beautifully told story, one told without holding anything back, that will capture the attention of every reader.

Disclaimer: I was provided a copy of this book in exchange for this review. All thoughts are my own.


Buy the Book 

If you’re interested in checking out this book you can find it on Amazon and Barnes and Noble, as well as many other retailers.

Leave a Reply

