Book Review: Nashville Sweetheart

Nashville Sweetheart
by
Rachel Hauck

When I saw this book available for review on BookLook I was pretty excited – I love reading books by Rachel Hauck and I have little bit of an infatuation with Nashville. (If you ask my husband, he may say it’s more than a little bit of an infatuation….haha) Anyway, I was pretty stoked to be given the chance to read and review a book by an author I enjoy that is set in a town I’m pretty fond of. What I didn’t realize was that this is actually a re-release of a book Rachel put out in 2007 under the title Diva NashVegas. Not that it matters, I was just unaware that she had released books set in Nashville in the past.  If I had known they were out there, I probably would have read them sooner. 🙂

Nashville Sweetheart tells the story of Aubrey James, a so-called queen of country music. Aubrey rose to fame after the tragic death of her parents who were pioneers in gospel music – music has been a part of her life forever. After being at the top of the charts for over a decade, Aubrey’s life starts to unravel.  A former band member betrays her and sells lies to the tabloids, she calls off her engagement to a high-profile Nashville resident and she fights with her label when they don’t respect her wishes. Her world is even more shaken when a reporter from Inside NashVegas digs up someone from her past, someone she wishes she could forget. Then she finds herself falling for this same reporter. With her past and present colliding right in front of her, Aubrey realizes it’s time to stop tackling everything on her own and turn back to God, the one she can count on through thick and thin.

I think it goes without saying that I really enjoyed this book. I’ve yet to read a book by Rachel Hauck that I haven’t enjoyed. I was able to lose myself in Nashville for a while as I was reading this book and even found myself relating to some of Aubrey’s struggles, her character is totally relatable even if her career is not. I can’t wait to get my hands on Nashville Dreamsthe other book in Hauck’s Nashville Collection. Even more, I can’t wait to find myself back in Nashville….for real this time. 🙂

Disclaimer: I was provided a copy of this book in exchange for this review. All thoughts are my own.

Buy the Book 

If you’re interested in checking out this book you can find it on Amazon and Barnes and Noble, as well as many other retailers.

Leave a Reply

