Moms’ Night Out

I’m sure you’ve heard all about the movie, Moms’ Night Out, that hit theaters on May 9…just in time for Mother’s Day. 🙂  If you haven’t heard or seen anything about it, check out the trailer below and then head out to go see it.  It’s not some fancy schmancy Hollywood blockbuster, but it is a hilariously funny movie with an awesome message and it’ll make a fun night out.

Along with the movie, a couple fun books were released. Tricia Goyer was given the privilege of drafting a novelization of the movie and comedian Kerri Pomarolli put out a devotional titled Moms’ Night Out…and Other Things I Miss. I was given the opportunity to review both of these books and can’t wait to tell you about them.

Moms’ Night Out
by
Tricia Goyer

This was my first experience reading a novelization of a movie and it was interesting. Usually a book and a movie are a bit different, but with a novelization it’s the exact same as the movie just in book form. Tricia does a great job of turning the movie into a book that’s fun to read, but reading the book after watching the movie was a bit tough for me since I already knew everything that was going to happen. The thing I enjoyed most was seeing how Tricia was able to take the way the characters used body language, eye rolls, faces, etc. and describe them just right so someone who had not seen the movie would be able to get the same understanding that moviegoers did. While this is a fun read, I’d suggest either the movie or the book not both. Or you could try reading the book and then watching the movie and it might be a different experience than mine.

To see what other bloggers are saying about this book, click here.

Buy the Book
If you’re interested in checking out this book you can find it on Amazon and Barnes and Noble, as well as many other retailers.

Moms’ Night Out…and Other Things I Miss
by
Kerri Pomarolli

Watch Kerri’s video below to learn more about this book, it’s pretty funny and I don’t think I could say it any better myself.

This devotional is a collection of funny stories and encouragement from a mom who has been right where you are, deep in the trenches of motherhood. Each chapter is short and to the point, but still deep enough that it really gives you something to think about encourage you as you do the most important job in the world.  I really enjoyed reading it and I’m sure I’ll find myself picking it up again and again through the years.

To see what other bloggers are saying about Kerri’s book, click here.

Buy the Book
If you’re interested in checking out this book you can find it on Amazon and Barnes and Noble, as well as many other retailers.

 

And just because I like it, here’s one more really cool little video about Moms’ Night Out.

Disclaimer: I was provided  copies of these books in exchange for this review. All thoughts are my own.

Leave a Reply

