Book Review: When I Fall in Love

When I Fall in Love
by
Susan May Warren

I loved book 3 in Susan May Warren’s Christiansen Family series just as much as I loved the first two books. I really enjoyed catching up with the Christiansen family and being able to follow their stories a little bit more.  In When I Fall in Love, we catch up with Grace Christiansen.  When Grace’s family surprises her with a cooking retreat in Hawaii, she is forced to leave her comfort zone, face her fears and try new things.

It should be a comfort that Max Sharpe, a former teammate of her brother, is going on the same retreat but it doesn’t pan out that way.  While Grace is having trouble being so far out of her comfort zone, Max is wrestling with his own personal demons – not to mention the fact that the last thing he wants to do is “babysit” his buddy’s sister when he’d rather be enjoying his annual culinary vacation. When it seems like the pair will never really get along, they are paired up in a cooking competition. The time they spend together during the competition seems to be drawing them together, at least until Max suddenly pulls away.

When Grace finds out the truth, she is torn between going for the safe thing or going after what her heart wants and Max is faced with accepting the future no matter what may come. In what may be the toughest times of their lives, Max and Grace work together to face their fears.

I love Susan May Warren’s writing, she tells great stories that engage the reader and keep them turning pages. These are the perfect books to read in the summer, they’re easy to read and let the reader lose themselves in the town of Deep Haven. When I Fall in Love found me losing myself in both Hawaii and Deep Haven. I have a deep love for Hawaii and I enjoyed getting to take a “trip” back there while following the story of Max and Grace.  Each time I finish one of Warren’s novels, I can’t wait to pick up the next one and this one is no different. I hope that her next story finds us catching up with Casper.

Disclaimer:
I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for this review. All thoughts are my own and I was not required to write a positive review.

Buy the Book:
If you’re interested in checking out this book you can find it on Amazon and Barnes and Noble, as well as many other retailers.

Leave a Reply

