Cookbook Review: Kitchen Confidence

Kitchen Confidence
by
Kelsey Nixon

Back when we had cable I was slightly addicted to cooking competition shows.  Top Chef, Next Food Network Star, Cupcake Wars, you name it, it was probably in my DVR lineup. When I saw this book pop up on the list of options available for review, I recognized Kelsey right away.  She came in fourth on season 4 of Next Food Network Star. I remember watching her and rooting for her throughout the season. Her bubbly personality and simple, yet sophisticated style made her someone I could see being successful on Food Network.  She didn’t win the show, but she still ended up with her own show on the Cooking Channel. I haven’t watched it since we don’t have cable, but I was excited to be able to “catch up” with her while reading through Kitchen Confidence.

Kitchen Confidence is a beautiful cookbook. Not every recipe has pictures, but that doesn’t take anything away from the book. Each recipe is accompanied by a little blurb about why Kelsey chose it and many have additional tips and tricks. There are also pages devoted to certain techniques, these range from braising to pan roasting to quick pickling. While not every recipe is something that sounds appealing to me, there are many I can’t wait to try including cinnamon buns with cream cheese glaze, fried homemade pickles and honey corn. I’d highly recommend this cookbook to anyone looking for some simply delicious recipes.

Disclaimer:
I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for this review. All thoughts are my own and I was not required to write a positive review.

Buy the Book:
If you’re interested in checking out this book you can find it on Amazon and Barnes and Noble, as well as many other retailers.

Leave a Reply

