Book Review: Motherless

Motherless
by
Erin Healy

I don’t quite know how to summarize what this book was all about, so I let the description from booklookbloggers.com do that for you.  Here’s their wrap-up:

Guilt may be the most dangerous motive of all.

On a rainy night seventeen years after his wife’s presumed suicide, Garrett Becker sees her walking down the street. A car accident snatches him away from this world before he can reach her.

Marina has spent her whole life mothering her brother, who suffers from an anxiety disorder. After their father’s accident, they face losing their home-the only place Dylan’s fears are held at bay.

Crushing debt is just one of their father’s secrets. Old keepsakes lead Dylan to believe their mother is alive and lives nearby. Sara Rochester is a successful chocolatier who doesn’t dwell on her past and never expected the resurrection of its ghosts. But after Dylan confronts her, Sara consents to parent the only way she knows how: with money, chocolate, and a gross deficit of experience.

Sara’s hesitant presence divides Marina and Dylan. Marina doesn’t believe that Sara is their mother. The woman’s paper-thin lies suggest she might even be responsible for their mother’s death. When Marina’s suspicions spark an investigation, no one is prepared for the tragic truth or the powerful redemption that Marina’s actions expose.

Narrated by a storyteller with more to lose than any other character, Motherless is a richly layered mystery about the power of perception-and deception-among people seeking forgiveness for irreversible sins.

My Thoughts

Days after finishing this book, I’m still trying to wrap my head around all the story contained.  Reading it was sort of like being on a roller coaster, blindfolded.  Just when I thought I knew where the story was heading, it took some random turn and totally threw me for a loop.

It took me a couple chapters to really get into this book and understand the point of view the author used.  It was an interesting concept.  I got a bit confused toward the middle of the book when she added another narrator and it wasn’t always clear which narrator was speaking right away. This made really getting into the book tough at times.

While the story was interesting, I was often confused with how it was told. I’ve read some of Erin’s other books and enjoyed them, but this one was tough for me.

Disclaimer:
I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for this review. All thoughts are my own and I was not required to write a positive review.

Buy the Book:
If you’re interested in checking out this book you can find it on Amazon and Barnes and Noble, as well as many other retailers.

Leave a Reply

