Book Review: This Is What You Just Put In Your Mouth?

This Is What You Just Put In Your Mouth?
by
Patrick Di Justo

In some ways, I’m what some might consider a “foodie” not in the sense that I just have to try the best restaurants in every city I go to, more in the sense that I love learning about food.  I love learning about what’s in our food, what that does to our bodies, etc. Needless to say, when I saw the title of this book, I just knew that I had to get my hands on a copy.

Stemming from his popular column, What’s Inside, found in WIRED magazine, Patrick Di Justo offers readers a look at exactly what’s inside the food we ingest every day. While many people think they know what they’re eating, Di Justo makes it clear that there are a lot of things we don’t know. Using a scientific approach, Di Justo gives readers insight into what makes up things like Easy Cheese, Hot Pockets and Spam. In the second part of the book titled This Is What You Don’t Put In Your Mouth, he takes a closer look at the ingredients in things such as contact solution, Fix-A-Flat and diaper cream.  All of this information is given in an informative, yet humorous manner and it really makes the reader think about just what is lurking in things we eat or use every day.

What I found most interesting about this book was the reception Di Justo was given by many companies when he reached out to them to get their input on the products their ingredients contained; many were very secretive and vague, with just a handful actually willing to talk with him. It makes you realize that there is a lot going on in the food industry that they don’t want consumers to know and it’s not just “trade secrets.” While I found the information fascinating, it was a bit much to read the whole book all at once.  This is a book that is better savored, giving the reader time to ponder what they’ve learned.

Disclaimer:
I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for this review. All thoughts are my own and I was not required to write a positive review.

Buy the Book:
If you’re interested in checking out this book you can find it on Amazon and Barnes and Noble, as well as many other retailers.

Leave a Reply

