Book Review: The First Family Detail

The First Family Detail
by
Ronald Kessler

Based on the blurb on the back cover of this book, I expected this book to contain stories about things Secret Service agents had witnessed while on duty.  This book holds quite a few of those stories as well as accounts of the ways the Secret Service is putting our leaders in dangerous situations due to budget cuts and issues in upper level management. I went into this book expected an inside look at some of our leaders and their families, but I was also made aware to problems that exist within the Secret Service and the culture these problems create. The book is easy to read and very informative, but not quite what I expected. The last chapter of this book, as well as the epilogue, come across as a scathing review of the way the Secret Service operates.  It’s not something I was expecting to stumble upon as I finished the book. That being said, I did enjoy getting a small peek into the private lives of some of this nation’s leaders.

Disclaimer:
I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for this review. All thoughts are my own and I was not required to write a positive review.

Buy the Book:
If you’re interested in checking out this book you can find it on Amazon and Barnes and Noble, as well as many other retailers.

Leave a Reply

