Book Review: Hiding Places

Hiding Place
by
Erin Healy

This book has a lot going on, so rather than try to give you an overview myself,  I figure it’s best to let the author tell you herself….here’s what it says about the book at www.erinhealy.com:

Eleven-year-old Kate Whitby leads an invisible life, the youngest member of her odd family. They live in their historic small-town hotel, where she is an expert at keeping everyone’s secrets: her sister’s a thief, her great-grandmother isn’t as crazy as people think, her mother lives in the past, and her beloved grandfather might have killed his best friend. When all these secrets spin out into a dangerous web, young Kate puts all her childlike faith into one terrible hope: that the family who has never been able to protect her before might  learn how to do it now.

Now for my thoughts…

It’s been quite a while since I picked up a book that sucked me in like this one did. From the very first page, Hiding Places held my attention.  If it weren’t for my soccer-mom and homeschooling responsibilities, I probably would have finished it in a day or two. The characters were engaging and the story was suspenseful and adventurous. Aside from the entertainment value, I also learned a little bit of WWII history while reading this book.  The way the historical aspects were incorporated into the story was quite interesting and made me do a little research of my own. I really enjoy reading books in the suspense genre and this was no exception; Erin Healy has crafted a beautiful story full of intrigue and action.

Click here to read a sample of the book.

Disclaimer:
I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for this review. All thoughts are my own and I was not required to write a positive review.

Buy the Book:
If you’re interested in checking out this book you can find it on Amazon and Barnes and Noble, as well as many other retailers.

Leave a Reply

