Book Review: Dug Down Deep

Dug Down Deep
By
Joshua Harris

Orthodoxy.

Theology.

Doctrine.

Those simple words are enough to make many people afraid, uncomfortable and wanting to look for the nearest exit. Though the words are common in churches and Christian circles, there is often something overwhelming and almost mystical about them.  We’ve heard them a million times, but the majority of us couldn’t truly explain them even if we were offered a large sum of money.

In his book, Dug Down Deep, Pastor Joshua Harris tries to put these terms and their application into language we can all understand and relate to. After growing up in the church and going through the motions of being a “good” Christian, Harris realized that it’s so much more than that; it’s all about following God’s word and standing firm in them. Dug Down Deep is a mixture of his journaling about this revelation and some teaching about doctrine, theology and orthodoxy.

At times the book went a little over my head but that might be attributed to the fact that I was usually reading it late at night when I should have been sleeping! J Despite that fact, I found the book to be very conversational, not preachy or textbook-ish.  I really enjoyed the stories and illustrations, both in words and in pictures, Harris shared throughout the book. I think this could definitely be a book that I’ll re-read at a later point in life; there are so many truths hidden in it that I’m sure to find more with each additional reading.

If you’re interested in checking out this book you can find it on Amazon and Barnes and Noble, as well as many other retailers.

Disclaimer: I was provided a copy of this book in exchange for this review. All thoughts are my own and I was not required to provide a positive review.

Leave a comment